Overcoming a Bad Day

Hi everyone!

If you’re new to the blog, welcome and click here to check out the start page to learn more about “As Told by Gabby.”

If you’re a music lover, read about my love for Lo-Fi music here, or you missed my past posts, check out my latest ones by clicking here.

Last week, you may remember my post, Overcoming Failure, where I talked about my experience with handling failure and how I’m learning to overcome obstacles.

If you would like to read that post, click here.

When we talk about failure, one thing that comes to mind is people experiencing a bad day, a bad week, or a series of moments in general. As someone that struggles with Bipolar and Depression, it can be tough to avoid these moments in life.

Today, I will show you how I overcame a bad day.

Acknowledge the Bad Day

Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

It’s easier for us to say:

“Forget about it; it’s just one bad day.”

However, when people say statements like this, I feel we let whatever caused the moment linger if we don’t address it. For me, that could be a serious conversation with a friend that didn’t end well or an incident at work that could have easily been avoided.

Instead of trying to brush the incident away, I’ll do what I do best:

“When in doubt, write it out.”

I’ll take as much time as I need to journal what happened that day (or week if I don’t have the time). I also wrote down how I handled the situation and what I could have done differently. Writing down my feelings and emotions helps me see what triggers me and how I can change the outcome.

Take Advantage of the Moment

Photo by Mathew Sichkaruk on Unsplash

Now, this part, I know everyone is probably wondering:

“Gabby, I’m having a horrible day; I don’t want to do anything!”

Let me explain. Let’s say you’re starting online classes soon, so you plan a week before they start. Suddenly, you come down with the flu, and it hits you hard. Instead of creating routines, your sole focus is getting better. One of the ways to help your body get over a cold is by getting plenty of rest.

Instead of the bad, focus on what you’re getting or learning from the situation. If you’re sick, you must take care of your physical health. Are you feeling tired? Maybe your body and mind are telling you you need a break, so you nap.

Take the time to silence the negative and listen to what you need to return to a better place.

Bad Days Don’t Last Forever

Photo by Pamela Scratche on Unsplash

People feel like they’ll never get out of their bad days. But there’s good news, there are good days ahead. If we continue to practice thinking about the simple things versus worrying about the things we can’t control, we will start having more good days than bad ones.

It goes back to your way of thinking. Are you developing a growth mindset or sticking with a fixed mindset?

You can overcome bad days to experience the good days ahead.

That’s it for another post. I wish everyone positive days ahead. I’ll see you soon.

Until next time…

One thought on “Overcoming a Bad Day

Leave a comment