Reflections | October

Featured Image by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Good morning, everyone!

I’m back with the final post of the month, and I won’t keep you since it is the weekend of Halloween.

I hope I was able to help you in protecting your energy through my last post. If you missed out on reading it, click here to check it out.

Today, I’m going to share what I learned during the month of October.

The Road to Better Health

Photo by Jackson David on Unsplash

My physical health is still a work in progress, which has been a struggle. During a good week, I can get in at least two days of working out with Dad in the gym. Well great news, so far, I’ve released 31 pounds since last year in September. 

I started this journey with a number in mind, and at first, I hit the ground running, being careful about what I ate, making sure to get in three or four days in of working out, and correcting my sleep. As the year went on, I got relaxed in some areas, and strict in others. 

I’m proud of my progress, but it’s still a learning curve since I’m still finding a balance, or a flow with focusing on my health. The road to better health is not a straight line, there have been turns, and drops, and turn arounds, but I’m still moving.

Rebuilding a Growth Mindset

Photo by Tyler Wanlass on Unsplash

Thanks to my fifteen -minute breaks throughout the week, I manage to focus my time on books, journal, and more calming routines. When the routine is broken, I notice a shift when it comes to my mental health. 

If I don’t journal every day, I’m thinking about thoughts from yesterday, or worst, days before that I should have dealt with earlier. If I’m trying to relax, I’ll go to YouTube or Freevee (at times, not bad), instead of taking time to read my book and learn for thirty-five minutes on my lunch break. 

Like I said before, it’s all about finding that flow and learning how I use my time. If I stay consistent with the activities I do during my breaks, I can rewire my brain to think more positively.

Embracing Spirituality

Photo by Dan Farrell on Unsplash

Earlier this month, and a little bit of September, I’ve been curious about Animal Spirits, the Lunar Cycle, and Affirmations. I purchased the Animal Spirit deck, the Moonology deck, and the Mindful Collective Affirmation deck. 

I started strong with 3 decks a day; however, it was too much of a task. For November, I said I would pick a deck and pull a card each day and use that as a journal prompt.

I continue to prayer journal daily, as well as journal about how I’m feeling that day. It’s really helped me with my mental clarity and what I need to do or organize in my life. 

Takeaways from October

Photo by Storiès on Unsplash

Here are some of the major things I’ve learned during the month of October, some of them I’ve learned from last month, and carried them over into this month:

I am content with everything that I already have

I am improving myself daily

I am more than my trials and tribulations

Money cannot buy me happiness

Enjoy the experience and make memories, don’t accumulate on things

Make the most out of your day

Productivity isn’t shown solely in your 9 to 5

If any of these resonated with you, or if you reflected on the same things as me during this month, let me know if the comments below.

I hope you all enjoy your Halloween festivities, if you missed my latest posts, click here to view them on the blog post page. If you’re a newcomer, welcome and click here to read more about the blog, “As Told by Gabby.”

I already have my night lined up of Disney movies I will be watching with some Pumpkin Spice Cookies. Enjoy your spooky fun readers, I’ll see you all next time with another post!

Until next time…

Leave a comment